StarShipSofa: Call for Assistant and Slush Reader

The title says it all. I am looking for an intern to assist me out at the Hugo award winning podcast StarShipSofa. Far Fetched Fables has one. Tales to Terrify has one. We’ve got a spare passenger seat at StarShipSofa HQ and it’s time for someone to fill it.

I’ve edited this podcast for over a year now, (I did it through my final year of university, mind you) and I love it. I don’t ever want to leave. But it’s not an easy task, and I need some assistance, both with StarShipSofa as a whole and as a slush reader. The latter is particularly important, as I got hundreds of submissions last time we opened, and I read them all by myself and offered personal feedback on most. Not easy to do, and the weight of it all burned me out. So I’m on the hunt for someone to be both my intern over at StarShipSofa and a slush reader. As an intern, you’ll help me do the following:

  • Working with dozens of best selling authors in the vein of George R. R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, Peter Watts, Robin Hobb, etc…
  • Sending stories by these said authors to narrators.
  • Handling bios, story files, etc.
  • Finding new narrators to be part of our awesome team.
  • Reading slush (when the time comes).
  • Work on one of the biggest science-fiction podcasts in fandom today.

It might sound a lot of work, but I won’t be stepping back at all – I just need someone to help me streamline all this data and help me organize it all. There’s no “minimum” required hours, but 3-4 hours per week would definitely be a good number. This is also an unpaid, volunteer position.

It’s important to note that while this is open to everyone, I’m particularly looking for someone who’s has experience in the SF/F short story industry. Someone who knows the markets and knows short stories. I’m especially interested if you have read slush before, and even more interested if you’ve worked on a podcast previously. If not, then I’d like to hear from you anyway.

If you’re interested, shoot me an email over at jeremyszalsubmissions@gmail.com. The subject line should read: “StarShipSofa Assistant Query” followed by your last name. Tell me who you are, your experience, what genres you like, your favourite authors, publication credits (if any) etc, etc. The more detailed the better.

I’ll contact you if I’m interested and we’ll go from there. Let me know if you have any questions.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

-Jeremy

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “StarShipSofa: Call for Assistant and Slush Reader

  1. Pingback: StarShipSofa No 410 Paul Levinson | StarShipSofa

  2. Pingback: StarShipSofa No 411 Caroline M. Yoachim and Tricia Glock | StarShipSofa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s